Lite Sync - Fast reliable file ad folder synchronisation you can trust
LINKS
Contact

1 Cedar Grove

Moira

Swadlincote

Derbyshire

DE12 6HJ

Partner Sites

Cadlogic

Specialist developers of cad design software

© 2019 by Creative App Design LTD.

Jan 19

Getting Started With Lite Sync

0 comments

Edited: Jan 19

To get started using the software just double click the trial/purchased .msi file and the installer will guide you through the process of installing the software. Once installed you should be able to access the application from the start menu and the application icon shortcut on your desktop.

This is the settings page of lite sync's file and folder sync software.This is the settings page of lite sync's file and folder sync software.
Lite Sync - Application Settings Tab

When the application loads for the first time you will need to choose your 'Source Folder', this is the folder containing the files and folders that you want to keep synchronised.

After selecting the 'Source Folder' the next step will be to select the 'Destination Folder', this is the folder that all of your files and folders will be synchronised to.

Now that you have your folders set up and ready to keep in sync with each other there are a few more settings that you can adjust to suit your preferences that we will discuss.

Starting from the left hand side of the settings page directly underneath the destination folder path text box we have the option to 'Run app at startup', ticking this checkbox will make the application run as soon as you start up and log into your computer.

In the centre directly below the destination folder path text box there is the option to 'Start app minimised', selecting this option will make the application start minimised to the system tray in the bottom right hand corner of your windows desktop where all the tiny application icons are.

If the application is minimised to the system tray you can get the application to show up on screen by double clicking the tiny application icon with the left mouse button in the tray.

When 'Run app at startup' and 'Start app minimised' are both selected the application will run as soon as you turn on and log into your computer, minimised to the system tray and will enter into 'Auto Sync' mode, in 'Auto Sync' mode the application will run its self at the interval set in the 'Auto sync frequency' numeric input box, the frequency value is minutes so 1 = 1 minute.

Starting from the left again but in the middle row of options we have 'Exclude hidden files', if you select this option any hidden files in the source directory will be ignored from the sync process.

In the middle of all the application options is the 'Delete from destination' option, this option if selected will allow the application to delete files from the destination folder that are not present in the source folder that you are keeping synchronised.

Back to the left hand side but at the bottom of all the options we come to the 'Show notifications' option, if this option is ticked the application will show a notification in the system tray each time it completes a synchronisation run so that you know your files are being synced successfully.

The final two controls on the settings page are the 'Export Settings' & 'Import Settings' buttons, these two buttons allow all of the application settings you have chosen to be exported to and imported from an XML structured text file that the application will create on export.

This option is very useful for people that will be using a multi user licence as you would only need to set up one full set of settings and then export them to the other users installations.

New Posts
  • Lite Sync will display information to the user about every synchronisation that takes place in real time as well as keeping a log of this information for you to look back though at any time. The 'Application Status' page has a few ways of keeping the user informed of the actions that it has taken each time it synchronises your files from the source folder you have chosen to the destination folder. In the main text box every action that lite sync takes in the synchronisation process will be visible to you on every sync run. The quantity of files that have been acted upon will be shown for every synchronisation in the 'Sync results' section so you can clearly see how many files were processed. Folders + is the key for folders created, Folders - is the key for folders removed, Files + is the key for files created, Files - is the key for files removed, And Files = is the key for files found to be the same in the synchronisation process for each run. The 'Auto sync status' shows you either a green led indicating the application is running in 'Auto Sync' mode or a red led indicating the app is in manual mode awaiting user actions. At the very bottom of the screen we have three buttons giving us the option to either 'Start Auto Sync' which would put the application into 'Auto Sync Mode', 'Cancel Sync' which would cancel a synchronisation of either manual or auto sync and finally, 'Start Manual Sync' which would run the synchronisation process once manually. When the application is running in 'Auto Sync' mode the time left until the next synchronisation will be shown to the user in the 'Time to next sync' display section.
  • To ignore a file or a complete folder from deletion in the synchronisation process is a piece of cake using Lite Sync's new, easy to use, user interface. All you need to do to exclude a file from deletion in the synchronisation process is to click in the 'Pick' box in a new row in the list and you will be prompted to chose the file that you would like to be ignored from being deleted in the synchronisation process. The process of ignoring a folder from deletion in the synchronisation process is exactly the same just click on the 'Pick' button in a new row and you will be prompted to select the folder that you would like to be excluded from the process. If you would like to change the file or folder name that has been chosen you can simply click the 'Pick' box next to that file or folders name and you will be prompted to select a new one. Similarly if you would like to remove an exclusion from the list all you need to do is click in the box on the far left side of the row to select the row and then press the delete key on the keyboard. On deleting a row you will be prompted by a message box to check that you are certain that you want to remove the file or folder from the list.
  • While the application is syncing all of your files to your chosen folder it is also capable of keeping a log of all the actions that it takes while it processes the data if you tell it to. To tell the app to keep a log of all the actions it takes in the synchronisation process just go to the Synchronisation Log tab page and tick the 'Log Sync Activity' checkbox. You also have the choice to tell the application to keep a log of files that it finds to have equality while synchronising. The final option is to specify a maximum age that the application will keep the log files for, all log files older than the specified 'Log Age' will be removed periodically by the app. All of the log files will created will have the date and time stamp in the log file name. To view a log file you simply click in the 'Open' box next to the log file that you want to view and the log file will be opened in the XML log viewer.